Handover-Takeover of SEDM-CC/PMSC Chairmanship and 20th Anniversary of SEEBRIG ceremonies

On Friday, August 30, 2019, Deputy Chief of General Staff, Vice Admiral Ioannis Paxivanakis, attended the handover – reception ceremony from Greece to Albania, of the Presidency of the SEDM-CC Coordination Committee, as well as the Political Leadership Committee PMSC, within the framework of the SEDM (South-Eastern Europe Defense Ministerial Process), held at the SEEBRIG Brigade headquarters in Tyrnavos, Larissa.

Greece assumed the Presidency of SEDM-CC / PMSC on July 1, 2017 for a period of 2 years (2017-2019), with ambassador Eleftherios Angelopoulosthe as President and Air Force Major General Achilleas Taouxis as Director,

SEEBRIG also celebrated the 20th anniversary since its founding.

Believing that cooperation and dialog among the countries of South-Eastern Europe must be further developed and considering their commitment to contribute to regional security and stability, and to foster good neighborly relations, among the countries, an Agreement on Multinational Peace Force South-Eastern Europe (MPFSEE) was signed by the Ministers of Defense of the seven participating countries in Skopje on 26 September 1998.

In accordance with MPFSEE Agreement, the South-Eastern Europe Brigade (SEEBRIG) was established and activated by seven participating Nations, on 31st of August 1999 in Plovdiv, Na-2 and was then hosted in Constanta, Na-6, then in Istanbul, Na-7 and is currently located in Tyrnavos (Larissa), Na-3.